Saving Files

Reference

Editor: Info
Menu: File

There are a number of slightly different methods you can use to save your blend-file to your hard drive:

Save Ctrl-S, Ctrl-W
Save an existing blend-file over itself.
Save As Ctrl-Shift-S, F2
Choose a file to save the blend-file to.
Save Copy Ctrl-Alt-S
Choose a file to save the blend-file to, but return to editing the original file upon completion. This can be used to save backups of the current working state without modifying the original file.

If the file name does not end with .blend, the extension is automatically appended. If a file with the same given name already exists, the text field will turn red as a warning that the file will be overwritten.

../../_images/data-system_files_save_file-browser-save.jpg

Tip

Use the plus or minus buttons to the right of the file name, or NumpadPlus, NumpadMinus to increase/decrease a number at the end of the file name (e.g. changing file_01.blend to file_02.blend).

Options

The save options appear in the operator panel.

Compress File
When enabled, the saved file will be smaller, but take longer to save and load.
Remap Relative
This option remaps relative paths (such as linked libraries and images) when saving a file in a new location.
Save Copy
This option saves a copy of the actual working state but does not make the saved file active.
Legacy Mesh Format
Save the blend-file, but ignore faces with more than four vertices (“n-gons”) so that older versions of Blender (before 2.63) can open it.

See also

Auto Save