Patch & Commit¶
The first few times you make changes to the manual, you will need to submit them as patches for an administrator to review. This is just to make sure that we maintain a quality user manual, and that you do not accidentally break anything vital before you get used to the system.
In order to submit a patch, follow this process:
Make any changes that you want.
Create a patch file by running:
svn diff > filename.diff
This creates a simple text file that shows what text was added, removed or changed between your working files and the central repository.
If you have created or deleted files, you will need to run
svn add /path/to/fileor
svn rm /path/to/filebefore creating the diff. To see a list of affected files, run
After submitting the diff, you will be asked to “Create a new Revision” before you can add a title and description of your changes.
They will review your patch and let you know about any changes you could make. If there is no issue, your patch will be accepted and then committed by the team of your patch.
If your patch includes changes to or additional images, simply attach them when you are creating the revision.
Straightforward patches are bound to be accepted very quickly. Once you get accustomed to making changes and no longer need feedback, we cut out the middle man and give you direct access to edit the manual.
Once you are provided with the direct access to edit the manual, you can start committing directly instead of creating a patch file. Doing this will submit the change directly to our central repository.
All you need to do now is run:
svn commit -m "This is what I did"
If you leave out
-m "message", you will be prompted to type the message in a text editor.
Do not forget to always run
svn update before committing.
Then you will be asked for your user name (from
and password before the change is committed.
Your modified files are uploaded to the central repository for others to work with and continue collaborating. Commits are tracked in the repositories Diffusion. Soon after your changes become visible in the online manual.